Silky Chocolate Truffles (Cheat)

You know those reallllyyy good Japanese chocolate truffles? I’ve figured out how to make them at home.

DSC_0085.

DSC_0084.

I still remember the batch of chocolate truffles that made me fall in love with chocolate truffles. To be honest, it was only a year or two ago, and I don’t mean Lindt chocolate truffles, I mean pure, silky, squares of chocolate that literally just melt in your mouth. My friend had just gotten back from Japan and he gave me a box of Royce Nama Chocolate.

My life changed.

The box of truffles was gone within a day.

DSC_0080.

Luckily for me, I always manage to get my hands on more Royce Nama Chocolate, but even then, the chocolates don’t last very long (I mean in terms of storage, although true, I do end up finishing them all in a very short period of time), so I needed to figure out a way to make them myself.

DSC_0073.

DSC_0089..

I used very few, simple ingredients for this. I didn’t want anything to overpower or affect the pure flavor of chocolate. Thus, the truffles are mostly made from high-quality chocolate, along with cream, butter, and a bit of liquid sweetener to give it that irresistible silky texture.

DSC_0097.

Not to mention, this recipe is super easy to make. It literally takes like 10 minutes to throw together, and you just wait a bit for it to set and voila – you have a perfect Mother’s Day gift. I’m being totally serious when I say that these taste way better than any store-brought version. Plus, it saves you the trouble of running around looking for gifts, and of course, homemade goods are always so much better gifts that store-brought ones.

DSC_0102.

Notes: The recipe can easily be doubled if you want a larger batch of chocolate truffles, which I recommend (because c’mon…12 truffles is not enough 😉 )

Silky Chocolate Truffles

Makes 12 truffles

Ingredients

  • 250g high quality dark chocolate, chopped
  • 200g heavy cream
  • 20g light corn syrup or honey
  • 60g unsalted butter, cubed
  • 50g cocoa powder, for dusting

Method

  1. Add the chopped chocolate into a food processor
  2. In a medium saucepan, whisk together the heavy cream and corn syrup/honey, and heat over medium heat
  3. When the heavy cream mixture is almost boiling, turn on the food processor to process the chocolate
  4. With the food processor on or off, add the heavy cream mixture to the chocolate and process until it just comes together
  5. Add in the butter and process to combine until no butter streaks remain
  6. Pour the mixture into a baking pan lined with parchment paper or plastic wrap and spread evenly
  7. Allow the mixture to cool for a few hours, until set, before placing it into the refrigerator for 20 minutes
  8. Remove the ganache from the baking pan and remove the parchment or plastic wrap. Cut into cubes and roll in cocoa powder
  9. Serve truffles at room temperature

6 thoughts on “Silky Chocolate Truffles (Cheat)

  1. Pingback: Silky Chocolate Truffles - Yum Goggle

Leave a comment