4-Ingredient Healthy Spelt Crepes (Clean)

dsc_1168

dsc_1166

I love crepes. To be honest, I probably love making crepes as much as I enjoy eating them. They’re honestly one of my favorite things to make. Call me a loser, but it’s just so cool to see the silky batter cook to form lacy edges and these beautiful, golden brown designs.

dsc_1163

dsc_1119

You’ll almost always find crepes in my fridge, just because I can’t eat them as fast as I make them! I’ll usually make a large batch on Sunday and eat them for breakfast or (my current favorite snack) make banana sushi! It’s basically where you spread a generous layer of peanut butter over a crepe, add a banana, roll it up, and then cut it like you would cut sushi. I’m not sure why, but I’ve been really obsessed with that lately.

dsc_1165

Anyways, I tried to make these crepes a little healthier. I used to make healthy buckwheat crepes, and those are amaazing! If you’re looking for a gluten-free crepe recipe, then definitely go for that one. Anyways, these spelt crepes give you a thinner, more flavorful crepe. The ingredients for both crepes are essentially the same, but with one addition to the spelt crepes – applesauce! Yes, you heard that right. Crepes are generally made with butter. In my buckwheat crepe recipe, I chose to omit it entirely, but here, I’ve added a little applesauce, which gives the crepes a lighter consistency, but keeping them just as healthy!

dsc_1159

dsc_1172

4-Ingredient Healthy Spelt Crepes

Makes approx. 10 crepes

Ingredients

  • 2 eggs
  • 1 cup almond milk
  • 1/2 cup water
  • 1 cup spelt flour
  • 3 tablespoons applesauce

Method

  1. Whisk all the ingredients together until smooth
  2. Place the batter in the fridge and allow it to rest for 1 hour, or up to 48 hours
  3. Heat a non-stick pan over medium-high heat and spray the pan with cooking oil or brush on a little coconut oil
  4. Turn the heat down to medium-low and pour 1/3 cup of the batter into the pan. Swirl the batter around so that it spread into an even, thin layer
  5. Cook until the crepe is dry before flipping it over and cooking briefly on the other side
  6. Repeat with the rest of the batter

3 thoughts on “4-Ingredient Healthy Spelt Crepes (Clean)

  1. Pingback: Healthy Spelt Crepes - Yum Goggle

  2. Pingback: Crepas de espelta fáciles y saludables (¡4 ingredientes!) - biuvit

  3. Why is there water in this?? I’m freaking out realizing it’s a 4 ingredient recipe and I just added a bunch of water to a recipe when no other crepe recipe calls for water! I hope I didnt just waste a ton of ingredients.

    Like

Leave a comment