Easy 2-Ingredient Date Caramel (Clean)

Date_Caramel-4

I’ve talked about dates before. I used to dislike them. Maybe it’s because Chinese dates are completely different from medjool dates. Soft dates can hardly be found here in China, and even at that one store where they sell them, they’re insanely expensive. That’s why I always buy a few packages of dates when I go visit Europe.

I started using dates in crusts of cakes, such as in vegan cherry coconut cream tarts. I ran out of dates once, and tried to use Chinese dates in my chocolate-glazed avocado banana ice cream squares once. Don’t try it. It doesn’t work. Anyways, the dates were just kinda there to bind together the nuts and whatnot. Then, I used dates to sweeten my sugar-free chocolate chip chickpea blondies, and everything changed. They sweetened the recipe so well, and I couldn’t detect any presumed date-ness taste. I thought, omg, and then I went to make date caramel, so that I could use dates to sweeten everything.

Date_Caramel-1

Date_Caramel-5

I’m obsessed. I stir date caramel into anything from yoghurt to nana ice cream to oatmeal to toast. I suggest you do the same.

Date_Caramel-3

Easy 2-Ingredient Date Caramel

Ingredients

  • 15 dates (130g after pitted)
  • 1 1/2 (or more/less. See method) cups boiling water

Method

  • Soak the dates in the boiling water for 30-60 minutes. It doesn’t matter how much you use, as long as all the dates are fully soaked, and you have at least 3/4 cup water. Keep the water that you soak the dates in
  • Pull the dates apart and remove the pits. Place them into a food processor, with 1/2 cup of the water that the dates were soaked in
  • Process the dates and water together until it becomes pasty and fully combined. Add up to 1/4 cup water, depending on what consistency you want it to be at (I used 3/4 cups water in total)
One thought on “Easy 2-Ingredient Date Caramel (Clean)

  1. Pingback: Easy 2-Ingredient Date Caramel - Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

