Sugar-Free One-Bowl Apple Oatmeal Muffins (Clean)

Apple_Oatmeal_Muffins-2

DSC_0034-1

I’ve posted muffin recipes before, but all of the classics – blueberry oatmeal muffins, double chocolate muffins, chocolate chip…but never apple oatmeal. In fact, I barely even have any apple recipes around here. I think it’s start I adding to that collection.

Apple_Oatmeal_Muffins-1

DSC_0041-3

I always seem to have too many apples in my fridge. My brother loves apples. He’d literally eat an apple every day, so we’d be perfectly fine buying a bag of apples every time we went grocery shopping (which, with me in the house, happened pretty often). Now, he’s off at college, and we seem to always have apples in the fridge. My mom tries to get me into the same healthy apple-a-day routine as my brother, but to be honest, I’m not a huge fan of apples.

Not to say that I dislike apples, but like, in terms of texture and flavor, I’m kinda meh about them. What I do love, though, is incorporating them in baked goods. Remember that apple pie I made ages ago? Yeah, that was a damn good pie and one of my favorites.

Point is, to me, apples are okay on their own, but they get so much better when combined into baked goods and paired with some good old-fashioned spices.

Apple_Oatmeal_Muffins-3

I love this recipe because it’s so easy, and if you’re like me (with a fridge full of apples 24/7), you can whip these up pretty much anytime you want. The whole recipe comes together in one bowl, and only takes 5 minutes or so.

Not to mention, they’re so good for you! They’re naturally sweetened with applesauce and stevia, with only 2.9 grams of sugar per serving! That’s practically nothing. FYI – a 46g Kit Kat bar has 22g of sugar.

DSC_0040-2

Apple_Oatmeal_Muffins-5

Sugar-Free Apple Oatmeal Muffins

Makes 12 muffins

Ingredients

  • 1 cup old fashioned oats
  • 1 cup white whole wheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon ground cinnamon
  • 1/2-1 tablespoon powdered stevia (adjust to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup unsweetened applesauce
  • 2 eggs
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 3/4 cup almond or soy milk
  • 1 teaspoon vanilla extract
  • 1 medium or large apple, peeled, cored, and chopped
  • 1/4 cup chopped nuts (optional)

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 205 degrees Celsius or 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. In a bowl, stir together oats, flour, cinnamon, baking soda, baking powder, stevia, and salt
  3. Mix in the applesauce, eggs, coconut oil, milk of choice, and vanilla extract
  4. Stir in the chopped apple and chopped nuts, if using
  5. Transfer batter into a greased or lined muffin tin and bake for 20 minutes
One thought on “Sugar-Free One-Bowl Apple Oatmeal Muffins (Clean)

  1. Pingback: Apple Oatmeal Muffins - Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

