Cake-Infused Ice Cream (Cheat)

DSC_0802.

DSC_0812.

I’m back!

It’s been like 3 weeks since I’ve posted a recipe. Sorry. I’ve been on vacation and my laptop decided to break (as always). I was in Sri Lanka for a week doing volunteering with turtle conservation, which was amazing beyond words. Watching the little turtles hatch and setting them free into the ocean were both unforgettable experiences. Seriously, if you haven’t already, volunteer for some sort of animal conservation. It’s absolutely incredible. I’m already thinking about what I’ll do next – shark conservation? Panda? Bear? Elephant? All of the above?

Other than that, I also went to the UK to make some final decisions about which universities I’d apply to, and then went to the Netherlands to reunite with my brother.

DSC_0827.

DSC_0834.

In case you were wondering, my laptop still isn’t working, but thankfully, I have my brother’s.

Anyways, on to the recipe! I have so many ice cream recipes to share with you guys. Unfortunately, my brother’s laptop doesn’t have Photoshop and I didn’t edit any photos before I left, soo…we’ll see. But I did have this recipe waiting patiently in my hard drive to be posted, so here it is – cake infused ice cream.

DSC_0820.

A while ago, I baked a cake. Two actually. It didn’t go so well. They were in the oven for like an hour. The toothpick came out clean and judging from the outside, they looked like they was baked through. They were mud cakes, too, so pressing the middle wasn’t really an option for testing out whether they were done.

After I let them cool, I cut off the top layers (I was making a layered cake), only to find that the insides were still uncooked. Nevertheless, there was a thick ring of the cake on each one that actually cooked through, so I crumbled them up and sat in my kitchen for a bit, thinking what in the world I would do with the cake crumbs. Mind you – there were lots of crumbs.

I settled for cake pops – obviously. It’s the classic thing to make when you have cake crumbs. I made Supernatural Cake Pops, but in addition to that, I figured I’d make ice cream and put cake crumbs into it.

DSC_0804.

DSC_0826.

I stuck with the easiest possible ice cream base. It’s 2 ingredients and is no-churn! My favourite ice cream base ever. Then, I just tossed in a couple cups of cake crumbs, threw the whole thing into the freezer, and voila! Cake-infused ice cream.

DSC_0815.

Cake-Infused Ice Cream

Ingredients

  • 2 cups whipping cream
  • 14oz sweetened condensed milk
  • 2 cup chocolate cake crumbs

Method

  1. In the bowl of a stand mixer, or in a regular mixing bowl using an electric hand mixer, whip the cream on high speed until stiff peaks form
  2. Gently whip/fold in the condensed milk until fully combined
  3. Gently fold in the cake crumbs
  4. Pour into a container and cover with plastic film/aluminum foil. Freeze for at least 6 hours
  5. Allow to thaw for 10 minutes before serving
One thought on “Cake-Infused Ice Cream (Cheat)

  1. Pingback: No-Churn Cake Infused Ice Cream - Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

