Coconut Chocolate Chunk Cookies (Clean)

I think I found my new favorite cookie recipe.

DSC_0811.

DSC_0742.

DSC_0747.

DSC_0750.

DSC_0753.

DSC_0794.

I pulled my first batch out of the oven and omg the chocolate was all melty and it looked so good. Seriously, this recipe is definitely not short of chocolate. I grabbed a cookie without letting it cool and gobbled it down. It was delicious. I did burn my fingers on the melted chocolate, but all was worth it. I knew this was a killer recipe. But then, after I had let the cookies cool for a bit, I went to grab another one and – would you believe it – this one was better than the first!! The chocolate doesn’t set very easily, as it’s been in such a high temperature, so the chocolate was still ooey and gooey, but the cookie itself had firmed up. The straight-out-of-the-oven cookie was still a little crumbly and had a very even texture throughout. The cookie I’d left to cool for about 10 minutes had a crispy exterior layer with a soft inside. I know it doesn’t sound like much, but it made it so much better.

Then? I had another cookie. Yeah, that’s like three cookies within 15 minutes. #noshame

DSC_0799.

DSC_0780.

DSC_0789.

The next morning, I added two cookies onto my papaya smoothie bowl, and yet again the cookies awed my taste buds. Either they had gotten better or I was just really hungry – and I had just eaten half a large papaya, so I’m pretty sure they’d gotten better. I couldn’t stop myself. I ate another two. That’s four cookies within 15 minutes. Are you starting to see a pattern?

DSC_0823.

The weird thing is, I’m not usually a fan of coconut in sweets. Macaroons? Bounty bars? Never liked them. Never even really liked coconut yogurt (then again, I only had that once). But undoubtedly, this cookie wouldn’t be the same if it weren’t for that coconut. It adds texture and flavor that is addicting and irresistible. Hence, why I’ve been eating about a dozen of these a day…

DSC_0920.

By the way, you might notice some darker chunks of chocolate in these photos that don’t seem to have melted. In case you were wondering, for my first batch, I mixed in some chunks of chocolate date fudge, just as an experiment. It was fine, but it didn’t really make the recipe any better or anything, so I omitted it in the second batch.

DSC_0783.

DSC_0822.

These photos do not do the cookies justice. You have to eat one to know how insanely and unexplainably delicious they are. Please make them now. They’re suuper easy to make too! One-bowl and you basically just dump all the ingredients together.

Coconut Chocolate Chunk Cookies

Adapted from Half Baked Harvest

Makes 20-30 cookies

Ingredients

  • 2 cups old fashioned oats
  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 1 1/4 cup coconut sugar
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon salt
  • 1/2 cup melted coconut oil
  • 1/2 cup canola oil (or another 1/2 cup coconut oil)
  • 2 large eggs
  • 4 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 2 tablespoonsย unsweetened coconut or almond milk
  • 2 cups dark chocolate chunks
  • 1 cup unsweetenedย shredded coconut*

*You can also use sweetened, depending on how sweet your chocolate is as well

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius or 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. In a large bowl, stir together all the ingredients except for the chocolate chunks and shredded coconut until well combined
  3. Stir in the chocolate chunks and shredded coconut
  4. Clump together a tablespoon or twoย of the dough into a ball (if it’s a little too crumbly, add another tablespoon of oil) and place it onto a lined baking sheet
  5. Repeat with the rest of the dough
  6. Bake for 8-10 minutes, until set and golden
Leave a Reply

