Supernatural Cake Pops (Cheat)

Season 11, time for cake pops!

DSC_0024.DSC_0108.

*DSC_0037.

I don’t know if you guys watch Supernatural, but you have to have at least heard of it, right? It’s the show where a moose and a squirrel hunt monsters? Yeah, that’s the one.

DSC_0099.

DSC_0014.

DSC_0086.

In all seriousness, though, I apologize in advance if you read through this post and continuously think to yourself, “I don’t get that reference”. It happens.

DSC_0026.

But anyways, season 11 of Supernatural premiers today, and what better way to celebrate than making cake pops inspired by the show?

DSC_0071.

DSC_0111.

DSC_0034.

These cake pops are super delicious, and aren’t difficult to make either. Personally, I had loads of fun making these. I piped out (simplified) devil’s traps and Castiel’s ties. I threw in a Mark of Cain, too. Well, I tried. I mostly based it off of memory and I remembered it being a backwards F. I was too lazy to search it up, and let’s just say that I was close enough.

DSC_0051.DSC_0053.DSC_0133.DSC_0016.

*DSC_0039.

If you aren’t already addicted to watching Supernatural, I highly recommend that you start now. It seems like a lot of seasons, but trust me on that one. When I watched my first episode of Supernatural, season 10 was just beginning. By the time I was done with season 10, I had to wait a few months for this very day – the day season 11 premiers. I guess that should give you a pretty good idea on just how good the show is.

DSC_0097.

*DSC_0039.

I still keep every single episode on my laptop. Season 1 through 10, it’s all right here. It’s actually quite comforting, knowing that my Supernatural episodes will always be here for when I’m having a bad day at black rock.

DSC_0043.DSC_0128.DSC_0018.

DSC_0048.

*DSC_0021.

DSC_0083..

If you wanted to get real creative, you could base a few of these off of some of Supernatural’s most iconic quotes. Thinking back, I would’ve added one with cat whiskers “I’ll interrogate the cat”, or maybe “assbutt” in cursive…

And if you’re really skilled at chocolate-piping, maybe even go for Dean’s baby Impala or the colt. Perhaps a pair of yellow eyes?

I was going to throw on some sugar crystals to resemble salt, but I kinda forgot to. If you want a salted chocolate cake pop, then hell yeah, go ahead and throw on a couple of real salt flakes. That’ll keep the demons away!

DSC_0039.  DSC_0030.  DSC_0091.*DSC_0023.

These cake pops are wonderfully sweet. If I ever felt like I had a trickster on my back, the first thing I’d do is check if he’d eaten these cake pops (*cough* Gabriel *cough*). Gotta love the Demigod’s sweet tooth – it’s something we definitely have in common.

DSC_0096.

DSC_0103. DSC_0125.*DSC_0030.

DSC_0084.

DSC_0102.

*DSC_0037.DSC_0063.

Sorry, this isn’t a super ‘proper’ recipe, as I didn’t really weigh out or measure things as I went. In the end, making these fun cake pops are more of just a little fun craft than a proper recipe, but I do hope that these cake pops have inspired some other die-hard Supernatural-loving bakers out there.

And to the rest of you who don’t watch Supernatural: Idjits.

Supernatural Cake Pops

Ingredients

  • (approx. 1 8-inch) Chocolate cake, cooled and crumbled
  • (approx. 1/4-1/2 cup) Vanilla frosting
  • (approx. 10-15) Cake pop sticks
  • (approx. 100-150g each) Good quality white/dark chocolate
  • Food coloring

Method

  1. In a mixing bowl, mix together the chocolate cake crumbs and vanilla frosting with your hands until fully combined. For every average 8-inch chocolate cake, I’d recommend using between 1/4 to 1/2 cup of frosting. Start with 1/4 cup, and add about a tablespoon at a time until the mixture sticks together when you press it and resembles a dough.
  2. Roll the chocolate cake mixture into balls. If the mixture starts to crumble in your hands, you need to add more frosting to the mixture.
  3. Melt down about one small square of chocolate (either one). Dip one end of the cake pop into the melted chocolate and insert it into a chocolate cake ball until it’s about 1/2-3/4 of the way in. Repeat until all the cake balls have cake pop sticks attached and place in fridge to cool slightly and to help the chocolate set
  4. Temper the white/dark chocolate – this isn’t 100% necessary, but it’s preferable. If you have very good quality white and dark chocolate, then you may be able to get away with melting the chocolate in a bowl over a pot of simmering water, or in the microwave at 20-second intervals. However, if you’re using cheaper chocolate, or milk chocolate, then I’d recommend tempering it.
  5. Remove the cake pops from the fridge. Make sure they aren’t too cool, or the chocolate will set too quickly and won’t let you get a smooth finish. Dip the cake pop into either the white or dark chocolate, coating the whole cake pop and then tapping the stick on the edge of the bowl to allow excess chocolate to drip off, then leave to set (stick them in styrofoam or into the holes of a colander).
  6. If you wish to dye the chocolate, separate them into different bowls and color them before transferring the remaining melted chocolate into plastic bags and cutting off a tiny bit of the corner. Pipe chocolate stars/symbols/Castiel’s tie (see post above for more ideas) onto parchment paper and leave to set at room temperature, or in fridge.
  7. Pipe melted chocolate directly onto the cake pops if you wish, and after your chocolate symbols have set, use the melted chocolate as glue to stick them onto your cake pop.
  8. Offer these to your friends, saying “Please accept this cake pop as a gesture of solidarity”, or just eat them all while squealing and watching SEASON 11!
4 thoughts on “Supernatural Cake Pops (Cheat)

  1. Pingback: - Yum Goggle

  2. Pingback: Supernatural Cake Pops - Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

