Whole Wheat Double Chocolate Muffins (Clean)

DSC_0808.

Considering the fact that healthy muffins and brownies are a staple in my house, it’s quite abnormal that I haven’t posted a muffin recipe in a while.

To make up for the lack of muffin posts, I’ll give you one of my favorites.

DSC_0815.

 

DSC_0805.

Now, I have a few chocolate muffin recipes, but this is one that I favor in particular. They’re chocolatey, super fluffy, light, and perfectly sweet.

DSC_0810.

While making these, I was baking two recipes at a time – the other being blueberry bagels. I pulled these muffins out of the oven and planned on letting them cool before going back to the bagels. But they looked so incredibly fluffy, I couldn’t resist, so I ate one of the mini muffins.

It was a bite of fluffy, yet moist, chocolate-y goodness studded with gooey pockets of melted chocolate chips. H-e-a-v-e-n.

Naturally, I had another one.

Then it was back to bagels.

Then my mom came in and eyed the muffins, asking if I had taken photos yet. I told her I hadn’t, but let her have one anyways. She took one and happily left the kitchen.

About five minutes later, she came back and asked if I had taken photos yet. Again, I said no. She told me to hurry up and take them, because she wanted another one, and wanted me to share some with my grandparents. So I took my photos, ate another mini one (as seen in the second to last pic), and then gave my mom, grandpa, and grandma a full muffin each. They loved them.

Mission Fluffiest Chocolate Muffins: Success.

DSC_0809.

 

I love them chilled, straight out of the fridge, or steaming hot.

When I grab one straight from the fridge, the chocolate chips are slightly cold and aren’t soft, which provides great contrast compared to the softness of the muffin. The chocolate chips are colder, too, and you get that satisfying bite as if you were eating a bar of chocolate.

Whereas, if you choose to microwave a muffin for half a minute or so, the muffin begins to steam and seems like it’s just been taken out of the oven. The chocolate chips melt and get all gooey while the muffin itself becomes more tender and moist, resulting in a big, pillow-y, melty-chocolate-y bite.

Whichever one floats your boat. I love them equally.

DSC_0819.

DSC_0803.

Whole Wheat Double Chocolate Muffins

Adapted from Whole and Heavenly Kitchen

Makes 12 standard + 6 mini muffins (or 15 standard muffins)

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 2 large eggs
  • 1/4 cup unsweetened yoghurt
  • 1 medium ripe banana, mashed (approx. 1/2 cup)
  • 3/4 cup buttermilk
  • 2 teaspoons pure vanilla extract
  • 2 cups white whole wheat flour
  • 3/4 cup unrefined coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup raw cacao powder
  • 3 teaspoons baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 cup dark chocolate chips

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 200 degrees Celsius or 400 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk together the oil, eggs, yogurt, mashed banana, buttermilk, and vanilla until smooth
  3. In a separate bowl, whisk together flour, coconut sugar, cacao powder, baking powder, and salt until combined.
  4. Fold the dry mixture into the liquid mixture until just combined. Do not over mix. Fold in chocolate chips.
  5. Transfer the mixture into a greased or lined muffin tin until almost full and bake for 5 minutes before reducing heat to 190 degrees Celsius or 375 degrees Fahrenheit, and bake for 15 more minutes, until a toothpick comes out clean
  6. Allow to cool in muffin tin for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely
  7. Serve. Store in an airtight container at room temperature or in fridge, and reheat in microwave if desired
One thought on “Whole Wheat Double Chocolate Muffins (Clean)

  1. Pingback: Skinny Double Chocolate Muffins - Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

