Best Ever Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies (Clean)

~ These one-bowl, best ever healthy chocolate chip cookies are utterly perfect. You’ll never believe that they’re healthy! Gluten-free, flourless, no white sugar, no butter. ~

DSC_0463.

DSC_0454.

DSC_0464.

I didn’t think that chocolate chip cookies could be so healthy and so delicious at the same time. These cookies gave me so much reassurance that you can have a baked good taste amazing even with the absence of white flour, white/brown sugar, and butter. In addition to that, they’re ridiculously easy to make. You just need one bowl, and you don’t even need an electric mixer of any sort!

DSC_0458.

I keep track of all my recipes on Stickies, and under each one, I usually write a little comment. Sometimes it’ll be ‘sub stevia?’ or ‘too sweet/too dry – but worth adapting’ etc. For this recipe – and I kid you not – I simply wrote, ‘utterly perfect’. I intend to make these cookies countless more times in the years to come and I do not intend to change a single component of the recipe. DSC_0459.

DSC_0464

Best Ever Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies

Adapted from Chelsea’s Messy Apron

Makes 10 cookies

Ingredients

  • 1 large egg
  • 2 teaspoons vanilla extract
  • 4 tablespoons coconut sugar
  • 1/2 cup coconut oil, melted and cooled
  • 1 and 1/2 cups oat flour*
  • 1 teaspoon baking soda
  • 1/2 teaspoon cinnamon
  • Pinch of salt
  • 1/2 cup dark chocolate chips

*To make oat flour at home, simply process rolled/old fashioned or quick oats in a food processor until the consistency resembles flour

Method

  1. In a medium mixing bowl, stir together the vanilla extract, egg, coconut sugar, and coconut oil until combined
  2. Stir in the oat flour, baking soda, cinnamon, and salt until just combined
  3. Fold in the dark chocolate chips
  4. Cover the dough with plastic wrap or a clean tea towel and place in the fridge for at least an hour
  5. Preheat oven to 175 degrees Celsius or 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  6. Using a cookie or ice cream scooper, scoop out balls of the chilled dough and press them together (otherwise the cookies will come out too crumbly), before placing them onto a lined baking sheet. Make sure that the cookie dough hasn’t warmed up too much, and if they have, then place them back in the fridge for 10 minutes before baking
  7. Bake for 8-10 minutes, or until the cookies are beginning to brown around the edges
  8. Remove from oven and allow to cool on the baking sheet, or transfer them onto a wire rack after 5 minutes to cool fully. They taste amazing fresh out of the oven, but they won’t hold their shape very well.
  9. Enjoy. Keep the cookies stored in an airtight container in the refrigerator. If you want a warm cookie, you can microwave a cookie for 10 seconds before eating. I quite liked the cookies chilled, but that’s up to you.
5 thoughts on “Best Ever Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies (Clean)

  1. Pingback: Healthy Chocolate Chip Cookies - Yum Goggle

  2. I made these and the flavor is amazing! But, they are crumbly like sand. Sooooo dry. I had to eat mine in ice cream to cut the dryness. What did I do wrong? I double checked the ingredients…ok, I let them cool, I chilled for an hour and pressed them.

    Like

    • Hi LuAnn. I’m sorry to hear! As I stated in the recipe, it’s easy for these cookies to become crumbly. When rolling the cookie dough balls, you want to pack them together super tightly, place the dough in the fridge before baking, and then let them cool and even place them in the fridge before serving. The key is that, especially before baking, you want the dough to be cold. I hope that they work out better next time! Good luck x

      Like

  3. I had the same problem as LuAnn. I made my own oat flour and also did not have coconut sugar so I used some coconut flakes and sugar instead. I made sure they were cool and packed. They were so crumbly, you couldn’t really eat them. Like sand as Luann described. Otherwise I think they would have tasted okay. I do think this recipe needs some adjustments. Thanks for sharing anyway!

    Like

    • Coconut flakes and sugar might not have had the same properties as coconut sugar, as coconut flakes aren’t fine and couldn’t caused the structure of the cookie to change. Anyways, this recipe has always worked perfectly for me, but I’ll look into it. Thank you!

      Like

Leave a Reply

