Crunchy Oat-less Granola (Clean)

I adore oats in all forms. Whether it’s in the form of granola, regular breakfast oatmeal, overnight oats, classic oatmeal cookies, sugar-free blueberry pecan oatmeal muffins, or even just using oat flour, I’ll have it all.

Oat-less_Granola_2Oat-less_Granola

Then again, I know that some people don’t eat oats, which I couldn’t do, but if they did make that decision, then I get it. I’m sure there’s ways around using oats. I know that oat-less oatmeal exists, an oat-less granola probably already exists, but I decided to make a recipe for it anyways. I didn’t expect it to be that great, honestly. I thought that I’d miss the oats, but quite frankly, I didn’t that much. Don’t get me wrong, I still love my oats, but the absence of them in this recipe is hardly noticeable.

Oat-less_Granola_3

And perhaps the disappearance of the oats lets the crunch of the puffed brown rice and nuts to shine through, which are really what make this recipe so wonderful.

Oat-less_Granola_4Oat-less_Granola_gif_2Oat-less_Granola_5Oat-less_Granola_6

*As with all granola recipes, feel free to substitute the nuts/seeds for the nuts/seeds of your choice, as long as you keep the quantities the same

Crunchy Oat-Less Granola

Ingredients:

  • 3 cups brown rice puffs (I used Nature’s Path)
  • 1 cup pecans, roughly chopped
  • 1/2 cup sunflower seeds
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1/4 cup coconut oil, melted
  • 1/4 cup honey
  • 1/2 cup applesauce

Method:

  1. Preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. In a mixing bowl, combine the rice puffs, chopped pecans, sunflower seeds, cinnamon, and salt until fully mixed
  3. Pour in the coconut oil, honey, and applesauce, and stir in until everything is fully mixed
  4. Spread the mixture on a lined baking sheet and bake for 20 minutes
  5. Allow to cool before consuming. Store in an air-tight container.
5 thoughts on “Crunchy Oat-less Granola (Clean)

  1. Pingback: Crunchy Oat-Less Granola - Yum Goggle

  2. I have problems with this in that it keeps burning. I have made it about 6 times and love the taste, but you really have to watch it like a hawk while in the oven, otherwise there are charred bits everywhere. Think it is the honey that burns so quickly

    Like

    • I’m so sorry to hear that! Honestly, quite a lot of my batches of granola burn at the edges. Sometimes they’ll be done in 15 minutes and other times 45, but I usually just stick around the kitchen and check on them every couple of minutes. I’m glad that you enjoy the taste, though! x

      Like

Leave a Reply

