Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes (Cheat)

IS IT SOMEONE’S BIRTHDAY?

DSC_0223.

Not exactly, but c’mon, funfetti cupcakes are for all occasions.

I did make this for a “birthday” celebration, though. It’s my school’s 20th anniversary, and it was the 10th anniversary of my school’s version of “American Idol”. I’m in the group that organizes it, so guess who brought in birthday-themed food? Me!

DSC_0194

So since it was a “bake sale”, I didn’t eat any of the cupcakes, nor the frosting.

(…)

Okay, okay. Don’t blame me for test-tasting, alright? I had one unfrosted cupcake. Just one. Not two or three, but one, unfrosted cupcake. If that’s not something to be proud about, I don’t know what is. I did have some frosting separately though. C’mon, everyone who’s made frosting before knows that there’s no way you could make frosting without eating at least a few tablespoons (gotta test-taste, right?).

I gotta say, it was definitely worth it. There’s quite a bit of egg white in these, which make them super light and fluffy, yet still flavorful. Then there’s the frosting, which is just heavenly. Then there’s the sprinkles, and sprinkles make everything better.

DSC_0229.DSC_0267.

I know, I know. What the hell is up with these contrasting photos? The thing is, I frosted them at night, and I was like “ooh this light isn’t super-yellow” and figured that I’d take a few photos in it, but then the next morning I was like “omg natural light <3”, and so there you have it. I probably should’ve gone with one type of photo but I’m indecisive and I just love both so much. The natural light is my typical kind of photo, but the night-time photos are just so dramatic.

DSC_0257.DSC_0265.

See? Left = Dramatic. Right = Pretty.

DSC_0237. DSC_0271.

And again.

DSC_0246. DSC_0255. DSC_0274. DSC_0275.

You get the point.

DSC_0276.

DSC_0285.

Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes

Adapted from The Sweetapolita Bakebook

Makes 16 cupcakes

Ingredients

  • 1 1/2 cups cake flour
  • 1 1/4 cups granulated sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 6 tbsp cold butter, cubed
  • 3/4 cup milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 4 egg whites
  • 1/2 cup sprinkles

Method

  1. Preheat oven to 350°F/175°C
  2. In a large bowl, use a hand mixer or stand mixer to stir together the cake flour, sugar, baking powder, and salt
  3. Add the butter and beat until the mixture is crumbly and resembles coarse sand
  4. In a separate bowl combine half of the milk and the vanilla.
  5. In a separate bowl whisk together the egg whites and the rest of the milk.
  6. With the mixer on medium-low speed slowly add the milk/vanilla mixture into the first mixture and beat for 5 minutes, scraping the sides of the bowl as necessary. Add the egg white mixture and beat the mixture for an additional minute.
  7. Fold in the sprinkles
  8. Pour the batter into lined cupcake pans, filling them ⅔ full
  9. Bake for 17-20 minutes until the centers are set.
  10. Transfer the cupcakes to a wire rack and allow them to cool completely before frosting with vanilla frosting and topping with lots of sprinkles

 

DSC_0296.

One thought on “Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes (Cheat)

  1. Pingback: Homemade Funfetti Cupcakes from Clean, Cheat, Repeat - Yum Goggle

Leave a Reply

