Cream Cheese Pound Cake (Cheat)

My past four recipes have been clean. What? It’s time to bring out the devil. The devil in a cake-form, obviously.

2014-12-07 08.45.48.

Did I mention that there’s really just 5 ingredients? Excluding salt and vanilla, which don’t count. Even with salt and vanilla, this yummy thing only needs 7 ingredients and minimal effort.

2014-12-07 08.46.35. 2014-12-07 08.47.27.

I want to talk about bundt pans. See, here’s the thing. You get a bundt pan with a beautiful design, and you bake a cake in it, planning to turn the cake upside-down after it’s finished baking so that the top has this gorgeous cake tin design on it. That was my plan, but when I pulled the cake out of the oven, I was awed at the beautiful, golden, cracked top that it had formed while the cake puffed up. I flipped it over to see how it looked like if it were upside down, and it just looked boring and…bad. So, I just left it the way it was. Am I doing something wrong?

2014-12-07 08.52.01.

2014-12-07 08.52.54.

And then you’ve got that issue of trying to get a slice of cake to stand up straight. I’m happy to say that I was successful at first, but then it fell over and I couldn’t get the stupid piece of cake to stand up straight, so I just took a few photos of it, and ate it (this kinda sums up how I deal with all my food-related problems).

2014-12-07 08.50.17.

Gah. So moist and buttery โค

2014-12-07 08.47.51.2014-12-07 08.53.10.

I would recommend having this cake with tea or coffee, and to serve it while it’s slightly warm. Keep leftovers covered in plastic so that it doesn’t dry out.

2014-12-07 08.54.33.2014-12-07 08.50.57.

Cream Cheese Pound Cake

Makes 1 large cake

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups butter, room temperature
  • 8oz (1 package) cream cheese, room temperature
  • 3 cups sugar
  • 6 eggs
  • 3 cups flour
  • 1 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  1. Preheat your oven to 160ย degrees Celsius, or 325 degrees Fahrenheit
  2. In a large mixing bowl, use an electric mixer to cream together the butter, cream cheese, and sugar
  3. Beat in the eggs one at a time until fully incorporated
  4. Gently mix in the flour, salt, and vanilla extract until just combined. Do not over mix
  5. Pour the mixture into a greasedย pan (I used a bundt pan)
  6. Bake for about 90 minutes, until a toothpick/skewer inserted into the cake comes out clean
Leave a Reply

