Soft Sugar Cookies (Cheat)

DSC_0934.

I haven’t posted any recipes in a while, and trust me, it’s frustrating.

DSC_0843.

It’s not that I don’t want to post recipes, or that I don’t have recipes to post. I blame China. My VPN hasn’t been working on my laptop! It still isn’t, except for when I’m at school.

DSC_0922.

I recently finished an eBook, and I’ll post that and share it with you guys as soon as I can. It’s been my main focus up until last week, and I don’t want to post any of the recipes without giving you guys the actual eBook. Anyways, just so you know, it’s called Health-ified Chocolate and it’s a cookbook about what it means to “eat clean”, and some healthy chocolate recipes. You guys are gonna love it.

DSC_0914.DSC_0929.DSC_0941.DSC_0923.DSC_0920.DSC_0926.

In the meantime, here’s a sugar cookie recipe.

DSC_0845.

I made these a while ago for a bake sale, and oh my god they were so delicious. Ask anyone who had one.

I’m not sure why I always end up with so many cookies when making cut-out cookies. The recipe said that this would make about 3 dozen, and I ended up with 91.

DSC_0932.

I used a buttercream to outline the cookies and then filled it with an icing made out of sugar, water, and homemade corn syrup (which is pretty much just more sugar and water). The buttercream did not work. DSC_0905.

The royal icing recipe called for 1/3 cup water, 1/3 cup corn syrup, 1lb (450g) powdered sugar, and food coloring. Whisk together until smooth. I had waayyyy too much left over. I’d use like…three tablespoons instead of 1/3 cup. It takes 2-4 hours to dry. When I make sugar cookies again, I’ll mess around with this recipe and let you guys know. DSC_0927.

If you want tips on how to flood cookies, they’re everywhere. There’s step-by-step photos here.

Anyways, here’s the recipe.

DSC_0921.DSC_0924.

Soft Sugar Cookies

Adapted from The Gold Lining Girl

Makes 3-6 dozen, depending on size

Ingredients:

  • 1 cup (225g) unsalted butter, room temperature
  • 1 cup sugar
  • 1 egg, beaten
  • 1 tsp vanilla
  • 2 1/2 cups flour
  • 1 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp salt

Method:

  1. In an electric mixer, cream the butter
  2. Add the sugar and continue to mix until combined
  3. Mix in the egg and vanilla, followed by the flour, baking powder, and salt
  4. Wrap in plastic and refrigerate for at least an hour, or up to a couple of days
  5. After refrigerating, preheat oven to 180 degrees Celsius, or 350 degrees Fahrenheit
  6. Roll the cookie dough out onto a floured surface, until it’s about 1/4 inch or 0.6cm
  7. Use cookie cutters and cut out shapes (after cutting them out, ball up the dough, roll it out, and cut the shapes again until you’re out of cookie dough)
  8. Place the cookie dough pieces on a greased cookie sheet and bake for 6-8 minutes. The cookies should not be brown
  9. Let the cookies cool before frosting (or just eat them. They taste pretty damn good plain)
Leave a Reply

