Mint Hot Chocolate (Clean)

2014-12-17 09.04.42.

MERRY CHRISTMAS AND HAPPY NEW YEAR!!

That was a little late…

I’ve just gotten back from my European vacation. I visited Budapest, Prague, the Alps, and I stayed in Amsterdam for just a few hours in between flights. My favorite destination may or may not have been Amsterdam. Oops?

No but really, Budapest and Prague were both gorgeous, and they’re both in countries that I haven’t been to before. Budapest was my 35th country that I’ve visited and Prague was my 36th. They’re both rich in history (which I’m not usually a huge fan of) and equally beautiful (though I personally preferred Prague because of the atmosphere).

I skied in the Alps and drank lots of Evian, and did my best to stay up til midnight on Dec 31, which was extremely difficult due to my terrible jet lag. Now I’m jetlagged the other way around. Oh, timezones.

2014-12-17 09.05.37.

Beijing is just as cold as it’s always been, and I’m sure that most of you are praying for snow yet praying for warmth. I haven’t solved the snow problem (at least not in Beijing, the Alps had plenty of that), but I definitely have solved the cold problem.

2014-12-17 09.06.27.

Hot chocolate.

2014-12-17 09.05.46.2014-12-17 09.05.53.

I never drank it a lot in the past. It wasn’t really my thing. If I was cold, I’d stick some bread in the oven and make myself a cup-a-soup.

Not that cup-a-soup isn’t satisfying enough, but it simply won’t satisfy my sweet tooth.2014-12-17 09.09.49.

Hot chocolate is essentially milk with cocoa and sugar. I’ve changed that up a little, so that this recipe makes a rich and hot hot chocolate, whilst being refined sugar free, and can be vegan! I had a hella time swirling drops of coconut milk around too. This one’s my favorite: 2014-12-17 09.12.36.

This recipe is super quick to whip up when you’re feeling the winter blues, and it tastes absolutely incredible.

Subs: To vegan-ize the recipe, simply replace the honey with your sweetener of choice, but with a little more sweetener , depending on how sweet you want it. This is because honey is sweeter than other natural sweeteners such as maple syrup and agave.

Mint Hot Chocolate

Makes 1 cup

Ingredients:        

  •  1 cup full-fat coconut milk
  • 2 tbsp cacao powder
  •  2 tbsp honey
  •  1/4 tsp vanilla extract
  •  1/4 tsp mint extract
  •  Pinch of salt
  •  Coconut Cream (Optional, for serving)

Method:

  1. In a medium saucepan, heat the coconut milk until just before boiling
  2. Whisk in all of the other ingredients until all they are thoroughly mixed together
  3. Pour into a cup and serve with coconut cream
Leave a Reply

