Soft Molasses Gingerbread Cookies (Clean)

How do people even make gingerbread houses? Those are way too magnificent for me. I’ll stick with my little amateur gingerbread cookies, thank you very much.

DSC_0734. DSC_0738. DSC_0744. DSC_0750.

 

Gingerbread is comforting, though. Spices in baked products are just so home-y and comforting.

However, I realized that I didn’t have a gingerbread man cookie cutter, which is really depressing.

DSC_0762.

Then again, I haven’t made gingerbread cookies at home before, or spent a Christmas at home since I was 2 or something.

DSC_0765.

Damn, this just got really depressing. I’ll stop. Let’s talk gingerbread.DSC_0751.

When most of the dough had been cut out, I just broke up the rest of the dough and baked the little pieces with the cookies. I figured that I’d just try them as a test to see how soft the cookies were. After taking the cookies out of the oven, I removed them and set them on a plate. My mom wandered into the kitchen and eyed the plate.

“Try one!” I told her.

And so she did. She said that she liked it, and with a smile, I began to take my photos.

“I’m going to bring this outside, okay?” My mom asked (in Chinese), while nibbling on a gingerbread scrap.

I absentmindedly nodded, fully absorbed in the task of photographing cookies.

A few minutes later, my mom quietly came back into the kitchen, set an empty plate onto the kitchen table, left.

DSC_0772.

 

DSC_0773.

I’m sorry, but yeah, that’s powdered sugar. I had made the recipe so perfectly healthy and then went ahead and sprinkled powdered sugar over the cookies. What was I thinking??

 

DSC_0782.

There was just a little though, and a sprinkling of powdered sugar probably won’t hurt anyone.DSC_0784. DSC_0785. DSC_0787. DSC_0788.DSC_0783.

Subs: I do not recommend using whole wheat flour. I mean, you could, but they might be a little tougher than if you used a more “gentle” flour.

Other notes: This recipe can easily be doubled or even tripled if you want more cookies. Just freeze the dough in 2 sections if you double it and 3 sections if you triple it. Also, try to work the dough as little as possible throughout the entire process. Otherwise, you may end up with tough cookies. Lastly, as with any cut-out cookie recipe, you can always re-roll out the extra cookie dough over as many times as you can to make the most cookies

Soft Gingerbread Cookies

Makes 1-2 dozen cookies, depending on size

Ingredients:

  • 1 1/2 cups spelt or buckwheat flour
  • 3/4 tsp baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp baking soda
  • 1/8 tsp salt
  • 1/2 tbsp ground ginger
  • 1 tsp ground cinnamon
  • 1/4 tsp ground cloves
  • 1/4 tsp freshly ground nutmeg
  • 2 1/2 tbsp honey
  • 2 tbsp blackstrap molasses
  • 4 tbsp applesauce
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract

Method:

  1. In a medium bowl, mix the flour, baking powder, baking soda, salt, and spices
  2. In a large bowl, mix the honey, molasses, applesauce, and vanilla
  3. Add the flour mixture into the wet mixture and mix until just combined (DO NOT OVER-MIX)
  4. Wrap the dough in plastic and place in the fridge for at least 2 hours
  5. When the 2 hours have passed, preheat your oven to 175C or 350F
  6. Roll the dough on a floured surface, or between two pieces of parchment paper, until it is about 1/2 cm or 1/4 inch thick
  7. Use cookie cutters and to cut out shapes, and place the cookie dough onto a greased baking sheet
  8. Bake the cookies for 8-10 minutes
  9. Let them cool completely before dusting with icing sugar, or decorating
  10. Serve, and enjoy your holidays! x
Leave a Reply

