Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (Clean)

So I realized that I’ve never made a clean-eating brownie. I’ve made the raw kind that’s mostly made up of dates, but to be honest, those aren’t my favorites. I needed a healthyย brownie recipe. A good one. I found one.

2014-11-10 05.24.18.

Doesn’t it look gorgeous too? My peanut butter swirls came out a little weird, but oh my god they tasted soo good!

2014-11-10 05.25.17.

I’ve already mentioned that my family doesn’t love all the clean treats I whip up. They loved this so much! Even my brother!

2014-11-10 05.36.09.

My mom couldn’t believe that these were perfectly healthy. Seriously. She ate so many of them. Not as many as I did, but still.

2014-11-10 05.38.56.

She asked me if she could give some to her friends. Of course I agreed. Needless to say, her friends loved them too.

2014-11-10 05.36.16.

Are you dying for the recipe now? You should be. If I were you, I would be.

2014-11-10 05.42.13.

Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies

(Adapted from Lin)

Makes one square 8-inch brownie

Ingredients:

  • 2 cups oats
  • 1/4 cup cocoa
  • 1/2 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp baking powder
  • 1/2 tsp baking soda
  • 3 tbs coconut sugar
  • Pinch salt
  • 3 super ripe bananas
  • 4 medjool dates
  • 1/2 cup crunchy/smooth natural peanut butter
  • 3 tbsp coconut cream or soy yoghurt (I used coconut cream)
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1/4 cup dark chocolate chunks
  • 2 tbsp peanut butter
  • 1 tbsp coconut oil

Method:

  1. Preheat the oven to 180 degrees Celsius
  2. In a food processor, process the oats, cocoa powder, baking powder, baking soda, salt, cinnamon, and coconut sugar until it has become a flour
  3. Add the banana, dates, peanut butter, coconut cream, and vanilla and pulse until you get a thick batter
  4. Fold in chocolate chunks
  5. Line an 8 inch brownie pan with parchment paper, or grease lightly
  6. Pour the brownie batter into the pan and even out
  7. Gently melt the peanut butter and coconut oil over low heat until melted and combined
  8. Spoon blobs of the peanut butter mixture over the brownie batter and use a knife to swirl it around
  9. Bake for 25-30 minutes, or until a toothpick comes out clean or with moist crumbs, but not raw batter
  10. Let cool completely
  11. Cut into 16 squares andย serve
3 thoughts on “Chocolate Peanut Butter Swirl Brownies (Clean)

  1. Oh my gosh these look so good!! It’s sad, but I’ve never eaten a date. I’ve had larabars and stuff but never used a date on its own to bake! Making oat flour is my favorite! Yesterday I made some to make energy bites ๐Ÿ™‚ also I am in LOVE with your buckwheat banana bread! It looks to die for!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

